Inadequately Equal (Part 1 of 3)


Inadequately Equal (Part 1 of 3)

I believe within the last 40 years of our culture there has been a little bit of confusion as to where the line is between gender roles of a male and a female. Theres this stereotype that women are kitchen dwellers and men are Lazy Boy recliner lovers. That a man should work while the woman stays home to raise the kids. These are the symboled images we as the American people and probably the western culture have burned into our minds to define gender roles but they are just stereotypes through in through.

God defines us differently, and he uses the story of creation to begin to tell us how. Genesis 2 describes how God created woman in the likeness of not only Himself but of man and how man loved woman so much he named her after him. Adam literally says in Genesis 2:23

This is now bone of my bones
and flesh of my flesh;
she shall be called ‘woman,’

for she was taken out of man.”

The point I am trying to get a crossed is that man has a romantic heart for woman, he loved her so much that he considered her his flesh and his bones. Adam was being compassionate to Eve and loved her because she was part of him, like we are all part of God. I know that a lot of people do not like hearing that women are from men but they are. This is not me trying to be cruel or suggest that men are better then woman because that is not the case. Honestly, both sexes are better at different things. However, what I am trying to say is God created man to love Him,  so He created woman to love man, and both to love each other as one. From one they came to be again reunited solely whole to love Him.Image

Disclaimer: I am not saying a womans only purpose is to love man, only that woman were originally created to help man in the garden.

There are many ways that gender roles play out in the Bible but before I turn back to scripture I want to add something real quick. This subject might make people a little uneasy but I feel like it has been something on my heart to write about. Men and women compliment each other and are equal to each other in a lot of ways but we are not equal in design. I know this sounds redundant but there is a reason. Men were designed to be leaders, they were created to love God and take care of this planet. Women were designed to be nurturers, they were created to help man take care of this planet and love God all the same. Men and women have different but very equally important jobs on this planet for God. Folks, we are just designed differently, is it so hard to believe that we are different. Theres a reason people say men are from Mars and women are from Venus. We have different but complementing ways of looking at the world but it doesn’t mean one sex is greater than the other just different.

Turning back to scripture I think one of the most beautiful things in the Bible is the description of man and wife. This is what Ephesians 5:22-33 says

22 Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything. 

25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. 29 After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church— 30 for we are members of his body. 31 “For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.” 32 This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church. 33 However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband. 

We have taken a word like “submissive” and “slave” and associated it with our darkpast and our own irresponsible growing pains as a country. I will say this I am both submissive and a slave to my God, but that does not mean I am choosing a life of intense labor and abusive punishment or a belittlement in rights or status to evolve me into a second rate citizen. However, we all seem to believe that these words mean we have to give up our rights as a free people. Submissive is not a bad word and the relating passage does not mean woman are slaves to man.

I will write more about the above passage in part 2…. I will also outline what both men and woman are attracted to in one another from my understanding.

please feel free to contribute or add your opinion …….all points are valid and respected.

2 thoughts on “Inadequately Equal (Part 1 of 3)

  1. It took a lot of courage to post this and I applaud that. This has been a pretty common topic in my life recently and not so recently due to the fact that I’ve always so independent. However, there are sites I’ve come across written by women who accept this God given role. I have been trying to do the same although it can be quite a struggle. What I am trying to say is that as a woman, I have no problems with what you said and I get what you’re saying. Kudos :)

Leave a Reply

